Navratri 2019 (Winter Season) – MustFrills

Navratri 2019 (Winter Season)

What is Navratri

Navratri is the auspicious period mostly celebrated twice in a year (another two types are not widely celebrated which fall during the month of Magh or January-February and Ashadh or June-July and are termed as Gupt Navaratri) during which maa Durga is worshipped by the followers of Hindu religion. When this period falls in summers in the month of Chaitra or March-April it is called Chaitra Navratri and when it falls during winters in September-October it is termed as Shardiya Navratri. As per hindu calander this period starts immediately after pitra Shradh from pratipada (1st day) of Shukla Paksha of Ashwin month till ninth day. The tenth day is celebrated as Vijay Dashami (Dussehra). During these nine days various forms of deity Durga are worshipped. Navratri is a Sanskrit language word meaning” Nine Nights”. This festival is celebrated with much fanfare in eastern India, specially Bengal State and Western India, specially in Gujarat state. There are different methods of celebration in different part of India and the world.

Auspicious dates of Navratri 2019

1st: Pratipada- September 29, 2019 (Sunday)
2nd: Dwitiya- September 30, 2019 (Monday)
3rd: Tritiya- October 1, 2019 (Tuesday)
4th: Chaturthi- October 2, 2019 (Wednesday)
5th: Panchami- October 3, 2019 (Thursday)
6th: Shashthi- October 4, 2019 (Friday)
7th: Saptami- October 5, 2019 (Saturday)
8th: Ashtami- October 6, 2019 (Sunday)
9th: Navami- October 7, 2019 (Monday)